Hilarity Bites New Act Competition - The Final

Hole in the Wall - July 25th 2016 - Doors 7:30pm, Show 8pm. Tickets £5

The Final

In June and July 2016 the Hilarity Bites New Act of the Year competition returns, for the ninth year, as the North-East's biggest and longest running comedy competition.

Who will follow in the footsteps of Sam Gore, Andrew Ryan, Andy Fury, Matt Winning, David Stanier, Freddy Quinne, Jack Gleadow, and Rob Mulholland to be named the winner of the competition?

The Final of the Hilarity Bites New Act Competition, features the four heat winners and the best runners-up all competing to be named the Hilarity Bites New Act of the Year for 2016.

The final will be hosted by Andy Fury, and will also feature 2015 winner Rob Mulholland. The acts taking place will be displayed on this page when confirmed, following the heats.

Three judges, and the audience on the night, will decide who wins and adds their name to the roll of honour!


Andy Fury

MC Andy Fury

Despite starting comedy out of “sheer boredom” just a few years ago, Andy Fury has impressed a lot of people in a short space of time with a wonderful mix of self-deprecating dark jokes and off the wall surrealism.

With a laidback stage presence that sometimes borders horizontal, he’s as hard-working as he is funny and winning the Hilarity Bites New Act Of The Year 2010 title has put Andy on the path to working at many of the best clubs in the country, wowing audiences the length and breadth of the UK.

“An absolute genius of a comedian” - BBC

“Brilliant... The next Pub Landlord of comedy” - Hexham Courant

“A very funny man with a big future ahead of him” - Corby Radio


Tickets for this show are £5 each, with doors opening at 7:30pm and the show starting at 8pm.

Tickets are now on-sale for this show from the following online outlets:

Hilarity Bites Box Office
See Tickets
We Got Tickets

Tickets for this show can also be bought in person from the Hole in the Wall, Horsemarket, Darlington.

Hole in the Wall